1st September 2016
Centenary exhibition at Rook Lane Chapel, Frome BA11 1DN
September – October 2016
The Home of our Delight exhibition opened in September 2016, a hundred years after the loss of three of the men listed on the village war memorial at the Somme.
It explored stories about the men listed, and the families and homes they left behind, through a selection of letters written between 1910 and 1925, to and from Mells and the wider world.
Thanks to family, local and national archives including: RIBA Archives, Munnings Art Museum, Radstock Museum and most importantly the Horner/Asquith archives in Mells, we were able to reproduce original letters, along with transcriptions, and explore their context.
The focus was not in the battlefield, but the impact of the First World War at home from as wide a range of perspectives as possible.
Correspondents include seven year old Lady Helen Asquith, Lance Corporal Edgar Chamberlain and Sir Edwin Lutyens, designer of the Cenotaph and the village memorial in Mells.
The exhibition received over a thousand visitors, but is now sadly closed. However you can read and download all the exhibition panels in full here, and the Home of our Delight exhibition booklet, full of fascinating background information uncovered by our curator Sue Bucklow, here
The original panels are currently in storage, but are available for loan: for further details please contact: firstname.lastname@example.org
Back to Blog Home